2014 Fleurieu Fiesta! Olive Awards Winners


Best Packaging in Olive Oil – Sponsored by Olives SA

Esposito, Kangaroo Island

Punter’s Pick

The top three gold-medal winning olive oils presented to the public were Nangkita Olives Koroneiki,
Joseph Cold Press, and Diana Olives Red Label. One oil stood out at both markets this year.

Punter’s Pick Willunga Farmer’s Market – Sponsored by Jetty Food Store

Primo Estate Joseph Cold Press

Punter’s Pick Victor Harbor Farmer’s Market –
Sponsored by Victor Harbor Farmers’ Market

Primo Estate Joseph Cold Press

The Emmanuel Giakoumis Award for Best Olive of Show –
Sponsored by Willunga Farmers’ Market

Two Hills and a Creek

The Vince Scarfo Award for Best Olive of Oil Show – Sponsored by Spice Girlz

Nangkita Olives Koroneiki

For full details, download the 2014  Awards Results Booklet …

2014 Olive Awards Results - Fleurieu
2014 Olive Awards Results - Fleurieu
2014 Olive Awards Results - Fleurieu.pdf
954.8 KiB

Fleurieu Peninsula Food would like to thank our supporters and sponsors for their generosity …

  • OFFICIAL:  Rachel McMillan, Head Steward; Todd Steele, Steward
  • JUDGES: Briony Liebich, Chief Judge; Glenn Green, Judge; Nigel Rich, Judge; Paul Petanga, Judge; Dianne Mattsson, Associate Judge
  • PUNTERS’ PICK GUIDES:  Robyn Shliebs, Willunga Farmers’ Market; Michael Harbison, Victor Harbor Farmers’ Market

Special thanks to…

  • Zannie Flanagan for developing the Fiesta! Olive Awards, being an ongoing ambassador of
    regional olive products and her contribution to the awards is outstanding and greatly appreciated.
  • Nigel Rich for generously providing The Elbow Room as venue for judging.
  • Andy Clappis for hosting the Awards night and preparing a special menu to feature oils and olives.
  • Fiesta! Olive Awards volunteers, especially Fleurieu Peninsula Food Board Members Rachel
    McMillan, Todd Steele and Bronwyn Busbridge for their enthusiasm and time.
  • Olives SA members Michael Johnston and Michael Harbison for their contribution to promoting the awards and for sponsoring the inaugural olive oil packaging prize.
  • Willunga Farmers Market and Victor Harbor Farmers Market for hosting the Punter’s Pick.
  • Diana Olive Oil for providing free fatty acid testing for olive oils.
  • Willunga Farmers’ Market, Jetty Food Store, Spice Girlz for sponsoring the prizes for the overall
  • McLaren Vale Tourism Centre for receival and storage of entries.
  • All of the entrants supporting this event, thank you for the pursuit of excellence.
    Input and feedback along the way was gratefully received from the local producers and processors.

For more information, contact Rachel McMillan on 0405 264 381 or email Rachel@fleuriefood.com.au.

 Pictured is Bronwyn Busbridge of Spice Girlz who sponsored The Vince Scarfo Trophy for the Best in Show Extra Virgin Olive Oil Award and the winner, Michael Harbison of Nangkita Olives who won with his Korneiki EV oil.

Bronwyn Busbridge of Spice Girlz who sponsored The Vince Scarfo Trophy for the Best in Show Extra Virgin Olive Oil Award and the winner Michael Harbison of Nangkita Olives who won with his Korneiki EV oil.

KI winners 2014 L

Kangaroo Island Winners!

Ed, Michael and Dom

Ed, Michael and Dom.

It is a great privilege to be chief judge of one of the longest running regional extra virgin olive oil competitions in Australia. I am pleased to attempt to fill the place of Zannie Flanagan who was instrumental in establishing these awards 11 years ago. I am committed to supporting the local food industry as I believe that we share a lifestyle second to none in the Fleurieu and surrounding areas.

Sincere thanks to Fleurieu Food and the awards subcommittee who share great passion for the local food industry. Olive Awards like this are important to benchmark local growers and producers against others and offer an incentive to produce the best!

Rachel McMillan deserves special thanks for her role as chief steward, managing everything from collecting samples, all communication with the media and entrants and event coordinator for the Punter’s Pick and the awards dinner.

We introduced a few changes to the awards which were made to align with national and international competitions, to provide improved value for entrants and to keep the event viable into the future.

Entries were open to include Kangaroo Island and to those who process their fruit in the Fleurieu even though their groves may be in other areas in South Australia. This was done to grow entry numbers which was achieved, increasing from 20 to 25 oils and 7 to 13 table olive entries.

All oils were scored using the 100 point system which was used successfully at the National Competition and is becoming the international standard. As always the best oils displayed freshness, complex aromas and flavours and had wonderful balance through to the aftertaste. Gold and Silver medal winners varied in their flavour profiles and ranged from medium to robust styles which shows a healthy acceptance by the judging panel of diversity and consideration of different uses in the kitchen. Compared with the Adelaide and National Awards, where I had the opportunity to judge this year, the 2014 harvest has produced excellent quality oils although low yields were a common story. Table olives were also good also displayed quality with almost every entry receiving a medal.

A new award was to recognise good quality packaging of oil bottles. We considered how well the package presented a quality image to the consumer, was in dark glass to protect oil from light, and clear labelling information such as place of origin. Another change was to test all oil entrants for free fatty acid which we felt provided an extra service, particularly for smaller producers.

I must thank all fellow judges who gave their time freely. The combined palates of a chef, winemakers, food writer and a sensory scientist, provided depth of experience and judgements.

Special thanks and congratulations to all entrants this year whether you won a medal or not because it is your commitment to the awards that makes you all winners. These olive awards are vital for the continuous improvement of olive growing and processing and help grow our reputation as one of Australia’s premium food producing regions!

Briony Liebich, Chief Judge